Don’t Burn out.

Deanna Gallipeau has one of my favourite blogs to read from my ECMP355 class. She recently posted about a topic that is on a lot of service teachers minds…Burning out!!!

Deanna blogged about a guest speaker Lindsay Stuart and how she explained that you have to ***Start Small, Think Big***

Here is Deannas post:

She explained that if you take on too much, you will stress yourself and eventually burn out. This is one of my worries as a new teacher entering the real world of teaching…burning out. I am worried about trying to implement everything I have learned in these past few months into my classroom and not being able to keep up with it all. This is where Lindsay’s “start small, think big” comes in. She talks about setting goals as a teacher when implementing technology in the classroom. For example, getting a classroom blog up and running for parents to start seeing student learning. Next goal for Lindsay, setting up a Twitter account!

Listening to a professional say it is okay to start small gave me the reassurance I needed. When incorporating new technology into a classroom I want to make sure it is meaningful for students. I do not want it to be a one time gig where we play around on twitter for a day and that’s it. The idea of setting tech goals as a profession is something very beneficial I will do to start “thinking big”.

So I will leave you with this. Do not jam pack your classroom in the first two months with every app, classroom blogs, and technology projects/challenges.

Start small. Make technology an authentic learning tool in the classroom. Teach children how to use it, and how to show case learning. Once they become “experts” bring in new ways to engage students. And remember, think big. As an educator  there are endless possibilities and goals to reach when bringing technology into the classroom, get excited, become passionate and have fun.

Leave a Reply

