Mystery Skype

I was once again inspired by something I read From another student in my ECMP355 class. I wanted to do something new and exciting with the class I was mentoring with. I was on Taylor’s twitter and saw she posted about Miss Mohr connecting with her mentorship class.

Miss Mohr went to visit her mentor and classroom  in Moose Jaw. They were doing a mystery Skype and she went to see how it worked!

A mystery Skype is when two classrooms Skype with each other and have no idea where they live.  They ask questions to help guide their adventure on figuring out where they live.

This is how it went:

Students had different tasks.

hey had a greeter – the ones who introduced themselves and their class.

They had the questioners- these were the students who asked the questions. Such as “do you live in Canada?” or “Do you live near an ocean”, etc.

All the questions they asked had to be yes or no questions.

Another job they had were the students who crossed things off of the map.  So if the other classroom did not live near an ocean, they would be able to cross off all the states or provinces that were near an ocean.  They also had the fact people. This job for the students was to give the other classroom facts about Moose Jaw once the other class figured out where they were from.  Other jobs included tweeters and a photographer.

ImageI decided I wanted to do a versions of this with my classroom through Skype. I gave the EAL classroom no hints and allowed them to ask as many questions as they wanted! It was a lot of fun, I knew where they were but I pretended like I didn’t know so I could ask them questions and have some more dialogue with them. It was a lot of fun and something I would try in the future.

Leave a Reply

