The Flipped Classroom

I recently had a discussion with a new friend in a university class about flipped classrooms. This was a concept I have never heard before. He explained to me his plan of having students watch assigned math videos/lectures at home and then have students working on math while in class instead of having him lecture. I had many thoughts and questions about this idea. I was unsure if it would work. I think it could work in certain classrooms/schools. I know in my internship the students would have many excuses/reasons as to why they couldn’t watch the video – one being that not all of them had access to a computer.

I came across a great Google Doc on Twitter about Flipped Classrooms Resources by Dan Spencer

Flipped Classroom Resources : https://docs.google.com/document/d/1IOI5-tXZvOEVCFhoN5hlsccnRa-8_77nx3GDdB6C-tE/edit

5 comments

  1. Kylee I am also interested in how well flipped classrooms work. My boss and I were discussing it the other day because her daughter is in a flipped classroom for one of her subjects. She is in grade nine in Rosetown and they just started the idea of a flipped classroom this year. I do know that a lot of the parents are having a hard time understanding this concept and think that the traditional classroom is a better learning environment for their kids. I found this interesting because on the flip side of that you will hear a lot of parents complaining that they do not know how to help their kids with their homework. So, why would they be opposed to a flipped classroom in that case?
    We were also discussing this is one of my classes and as an elementary teacher I have a hard time seeing how a flipped classroom should work. In my internship I never sent homework home for the kids to do. We always told them that their homework was to read for twenty minutes either by themselves or with someone. As a teacher that works with younger students I believe that home time should be family time. I have a hard time justifying the point of sending a seven or eight year old home with a bunch of work when they could be spending that time with their family or friends building those social skills that are so important.
    Do you think that as a middle years teacher you would ever try a flipped classroom or even a few lessons flipped?

  2. Kylie,
    One reason that I do not necessarily like the idea of the flipped classroom, specializing in preschool to grade five, is that I believe that when students are at home, especially the younger ones, they need to be spending time with their families, and playing and learning through play.

      1. I have never done any formal teaching below grade seven, but I did do a few lessons with kindergarten and grade 2 in my internship. It was then that I discovered that it is very uncommon to have homework in the primary grades. I think a flipped classroom would likely work best in high school.

Leave a Reply

