The Use of Google

Michael Wacker gave a great presentation on google in my ECMP355 online class. I have used “home and office apps” such as Google docs, drive, calender, and slides.

My favorite part of using these with students is:

1. Documents automatically save!! No more, “oh no, I forgot to save it!”. There is no save button. I found out from Michael that you can actually go back and find previous revisions – so if it accidentally saves and you want a former version you can find it!

2. You can access your documents anywhere with internet! No need for lost, broke, stolen, forgotten Usb sticks.

3. There is layered permission! You can choose who can view, edit, and/or comment on your documents.

4. Saves on paper and having to carry papers around for marking. Students will also have a record of there work and comments from the teacher that they can’t loose so they can reflect back on it.

5.You can have a multiple layered calender that can be shared with others. You can have a personal calender that no one else can see and have a calender for every classroom, family, organizations, and friend group that you have

6. You can upload your itunes – this was news from me when I heard this from Micheal

7. Google is not just docs its apps! I found this out in my last couple of weeks of my internship so I have not had a chance to play around with them too much but I always tell people to play around with technology and that’s the best way you will learn. For somethings a manual is definitely needed but I like to play around and explore with technology

Fun fact I learned: “Google” was originally called “BackRub”

 

 

2 comments

  1. I agree with you – I learned lots with Michael. Overwhelming, yes, but not too bad. A few of the things I knew about — like the Google Drive. But lots of it will be so helpful when I get my own classroom. It will be saving the environment and incorporating technology into the classroom a lot more.

    It is kind of freaky, though, that lots of our stuff will be online and, let’s be frank, it’s not the safest place to store private things like students’ personal lives.

    I’m still wary about it but I think it would be cool to have a Google Community or Hangout with my class and their parents — keep everyone in on the loop. Very neat!

  2. I am not sure if I will ever use Google hangout but I am happy that it is another option like skype! Very cool to know that it exists and is free! Saving the environment is huge now. Regina Public had a competition to see which school could use the least amount of paper and that school won money to put towards their school.

Leave a Reply

